2016 Johnny Lightning Muscle Cars USA 1967 Nova and 1968 Impala

Back in July, I showed a ’68 Impala from the Johnny Lightning 2017 Musclecars U.S.A. series. Just a few days later, I found these 2016 Musclecars U.S.A. models at Walmart. I find it interesting that in 2016 the series included a collector’s card and came sealed in a plastic clamshell, while the 2017 series uses a simpler blister card. Could this be a cost-cutting measure? Is our favorite on-again, off-again brand struggling once again?

I have to say, I’m just speculating. During the RC2 era, packaging seemed to vary depending on the series. And personally, I prefer the simpler blister cards to these plastic encasements – even though, as a collector, I should probably prefer them for the protection they offer.

Another interesting note is that these two packages have a red sticker over the top of the blue bug that says “Exclusively at Walmart”. Apparently, whatever exclusive deal JL had with Walmart has expired.

Regardless of the packaging, I really like the cars inside them. The paint on this ’67 Chevy Nova SS is similar to the green gold metallic of the ’73 Nova that was my first car.

JLMC002 | 2016 Musclecars USA R2, Version A | 1967 Chevy Nova SS | metallic green

I love the wheels on this 1968 Chevy Impala.

JLMC002 | 2016 Musclecars USA R2, Version A | 1968 Chevy Impala | red

2 Comments

Leave a comment